Re: Rewriting uint16 headers with rasterio / applying rio color makes them unreadable by Preview, Photoshop

Sean Gillies

Hi Ed,

Can you try the following variation on your first command?

$ rio color -j 1 uint16_image.tif uint16_brightened.tif gamma RGB 1.5 --co photometric=RGB

Note the addition of "--co photometric=RGB". GDAL automatically sets the photometric tag (which other apps need) to RGB when the created image data type is uint8 (see https://www.gdal.org/frmt_gtiff.html) but does not do the same for other data types including uint16.

On Thu, Mar 28, 2019 at 5:48 PM Edward Boyda <boyda@...> wrote:

Hi all, I'm new at this, more of a computer vision person than a developer, so please bear with me....

I see the behavior I'm about to describe running pip-installed rasterio (1.0.22) on my Mac (OSX Mojave; homebrewed python and gdal) and also running rasterio (1.0.22) in a dockerized Ubuntu platform, on images from a variety of sources (DigitalGlobe, Planet, Landsat). 

Example 1: 
$ rio color -j 1 uint16_image.tif uint16_brightened.tif gamma RGB 1.5

When I try to open the output file, uint16_brightened.tif, in Preview or Photoshop, I get a message like "Could not complete your request because of a problem parsing the TIFF file." (That's from Photoshop; Preview is equivalent.) 

Example 2:  
$ rio color -j -1 uint16_image.tif uint16_brightened_v2.tif gamma RGB 1.5

The number of cores has changed from the first example. Now the output, uint16_brightened_v2.tif, is readable by Photoshop but has had its color interpretation changed to (reading from rasterio):

(<ColorInterp.gray: 1>, <ColorInterp.undefined: 0>, <ColorInterp.undefined: 0>)

When I open the file with Preview or view the thumbnail with Mac Finder, there are dark vertical lines interspersed with the actual pixels, and about a third of the original pixels have been pushed out of the frame. See screenshot attached.

Example 3: